战略基准4.0

PIMS®的基本原则:

企业和市场在不同的时间、地点和行业中以相同的方式互动。对常规的偏离是暂时的。经理人应该跟踪之前面临类似挑战的 "战略类近"。像俾斯麦一样,你的目标不是从自己的错误中学习,而是从别人的错误中学习。

竞争实力、市场吸引力、供应链适配度和人的反应能力才是最重要的。它们对业绩的影响是可以用经验量化的。 在这四个因素的内在不可改变的要素上,要学习的同行是和你一样的人。

做小池塘里的中等鱼,不如做大池塘里的大鱼。相对而非绝对的规模才是最重要的。

PIMS®工具可用于:

  • 我们希望企业的成本、利润率和营运资本是多少?
  • 我们在哪些方面出了问题?
  • 广告、促销和销售人员的努力组合是怎样的?
  • 赢家的看家本领与输家的看家本领在哪些方面集中了不同的精力?
  • 我们投资组合中的业务表现与潜力如何
  • 改善经营的优先事项是什么?
  • 哪些业务我们应该投资,如何投资?哪些业务应该被剥离?
  • 对我们的客户来说,哪些价格和质量属性最重要?
  • 与竞争对手相比,我们的优势和劣势是什么? 我们是否能提供价值?
  • 改善关键属性的可能成本和收益是什么?竞争对手如何应对?
  • 什么是不同的客户群/细分市场,我们应该如何应对?
  • 潜在的协同效应是什么?组合能创造多少额外价值?
  • 我们应该支付多少钱?
  • 合并后整合的重点是什么?
  • 我们的竞争优势是什么?
  • 对新进入市场的竞争反应可能是什么?
  • 我们能多快地打入市场?
  • 进入市场后,我们能否获得可接受的回报?

PIMS®的四个关键要素:

一个战略的关键是 "大质量,小价格"。做一个没有人愿意购买的产品的最有效率的生产者是没有意义的。PIMS从顾客的角度,相对于竞争者的角度来规划企业。

根据经验的多变量模型,我们这样的企业应该如何表现? 我们的战略优势和劣势是什么? 当我们知道我们的par后,我们就可以把战略因素和经营因素分开。

从诊断到处方:对于其他面临与我们类似挑战的企业来说,哪些是有效的,哪些是无效的?

通过500个变量的数据,有6200万种可能性来研究x和y对z的交互影响。我们可以迅速获得对我们特别关注的潜在影响的独特见解--如果它不显著,那就不显著。

PIMS®的起源。

市场战略的利润影响 (PIMS®) 是一个利用经验数据来确定哪些商业选择会导致成功和失败的项目。PIMS® 被用来制定资源配置和市场营销的战略。显然,最令人惊讶的发现之一是,相同的因素在不同行业、不同国家和不同年代以相同的方式发挥作用,这使它成为战略基准的理想选择。PIMS® "产生了坚实的证据,支持获得和保持竞争优势的常识和反直觉的原则 " Tom PetersNancy Austin.

这个项目最初是由通用电气的高级经理们构思的。他们想知道为什么他们投资于 "大的、成长中的、有利可图的市场 "的战略会导致IT市场数十亿美元的损失。在通用电气为此聘请的经济学教授西德尼-舍夫勒(Sidney Schoeffler)的指导下,PIMS®项目于20世纪60年代作为一项内部实证研究启动。其目的是通过比较通用电气庞大而多样化的战略业务单元组合(战略基准),看看可以学到什么。 ®

由于当时通用电气是高度多元化的企业,因此,无论产品如何,都要寻找对经济成功有影响的关键因素。ROI(单位绑定资本的利润)被用作衡量成功的标准。1972年,该项目被转移到营销科学研究所(当时隶属于哈佛商学院),该研究所将其推广到其他公司。 经过多次收购,它现在是位于瑞士圣加仑的Malik管理公司的一部分。 Malik Management

PIMS®数据库。

该数据库为每位PIMS®顾问提供了目前超过25,000年的SBU级业务经验(即客户界面和营销及投资决策的地方)。每个SBU在3年以上的时间里由500个因素组成。PIMS®数据库中的公司提供财务数据以及客户、市场、竞争者和SBU级别的公司运营信息。数据库中的SBU分为八种分类:耐用消费品、非耐用消费品、资本货物、原材料、部件或供应品的生产商;批发和零售分销商;以及服务供应商。具体的公司和行业没有确定。每个SBU简介包括损益表和资产负债表的财务数据,以及有关质量、价格、新产品、市场份额和竞争策略的信息。

与我们的专家联系

我们很乐意与您们的领导团队会面,介绍PIMS®战略标杆软件的概况,并探讨贵公司如何构建SBU定义,以便从参与中获得最大利益

Slide 获得个人咨询。 循证思维胜过一厢情愿 联系我们

相关文章

Strategic Benchmarking 4.0

The basic principles of PIMS®:

Businesses and markets interact in the same ways across time, place, & industry. Deviations from the norm are temporary. Managers should track “strategic lookalikes” who faced similar challenges before. Like Bismarck, you should aim to learn not from your own mistakes but from other people’s.

Competitive strength, market attractiveness, supply chain fitness, and human responsiveness are what matter. Their impacts on performance can be quantified empirically. The peers to learn from are the ones like you on the intrinsically unchangeable elements of the four factors.

It is better to be a medium fish in a small pond than a big fish in a huge pond. Relative, not absolute, scale is what matters.

The PIMS® tool can be used for:

  • What would we expect costs and margins and working capital in the business to be

  • Where are we out of line?

  • What is the right mix of advertising, promotion and salesforce effort?

  • Where do winning lookalikes concentrate their efforts differently from losers?

  • How are businesses in our portfolio performing versus potential?
  • What are the priorities for operational improvement
  • Which businesses should we invest in and how? Which should be divested?
  • Which price and quality attributes matter most to our customers?

  • What are our strengths & weaknesses compared to competitors? Do we offer value?

  • What are the likely costs and benefits of improving key attributes? How do competitors respond?

  • What are the different customer clusters/segments and how should we address them?

  • What are the potential synergies? How much extra value does the combination create?
  • How much should we pay?
  • What are the priorities for post-merger integration?
  • What are our competitive strengths?
  • What is the likely competitive reaction to new entry?
  • How quickly can we penetrate the market?
  • Will we achieve acceptable returns after entry?

The four key elements of PIMS®:

As described above, being “big on quality, little on price” is the key to strategy. There is no point in being the most efficient producer of a product no one wants to buy. PIMS maps businesses from the customer’s point of view, relative to competitors.

Based on empirical multivariate modelling, how should a business like ours perform? What are our strategic strengths and weaknesses? Once we know our par, we can separate strategic from operational factors.

Moving from diagnosis to prescription: what has worked and not worked for others facing challenges similar to ours?

With data on 500 variables, there are 62 million possibilities for examining the interactive effect of x and y on z. We can quickly get unique insights on a potential effect of particular concern to us – and if it isn’t significant, it isn’t significant.

The PIMS® beginnings

Profit Impact of Market Strategy (PIMS®) is a project that uses empirical data to determine which business choices make the difference between success and failure. PIMS® is used to develop strategies for resource allocation and marketing. Obviously one of the most surprising findings is that the same factors work in the same way across different industries, countries and decades, which makes it ideal for strategic benchmarking. PIMS® “yields solid evidence in support of both common sense and counterintuitive principles for gaining and sustaining competitive advantage” Tom Peters and Nancy Austin.

The project was originally initiated by senior managers of General Electric. They wanted to know why their strategy of investing in “large, growing and profitable markets” had resulted in multibillion dollar losses in the IT market. Under the direction of Sidney Schoeffler, an Economics Professor hired by GE for the purpose, the PIMS® project was launched in the 1960s as an internal empirical study. The aim was to see what could be learnt by comparing across GE’s large and diverse portfolio of strategic business units (strategic benchmarking).

Since GE was highly diversified at the time, key factors were sought that would have an impact on economic success regardless of the product. ROI (the profit per unit of tied capital) was used as the measure of success. In 1972 the project was transferred to the Marketing Sciences Institute (then under the wing of Harvard Business School) which extended it to other companies. Following various buyouts, it is now part of Malik Management in St Gallen, Switzerland.

The PIMS® database

This gives each PIMS consultant currently over 25,000 years of business experience at the SBU level (i.e. where the customer interface takes place and where marketing and investment decisions are made). Each SBU is characterized by 500 factors over a period of 3+ years. These factors include market shares (this business and major competitors), customer preference, relative prices, service quality, innovation rate, vertical integration and capital intensity. These are complemented by a number of market attractiveness factors, customer characteristics, and fairly detailed income statement, balance sheet and employee data.

Strategic Benchmarking Software
Contact us today

We would be delighted to meet with a leadership team to give an overview of the PIMS® Strategic Benchmarking software and to explore how you might structure your SBU definitions to best benefit from participation.